Altogether 43 research stations located in the ArcticDefinitions of the Arctic vary according to environmental, geographical, political, cultural and scientific perspectives. Some scientists define the Arctic as areas having a high latitude, long winters, short, cool summers,... More and northern forest and alpine areas offer Transnational Access in INTERACT. You can find a listing of these stations and the access they offer from the table below.

Information about the availability of the stations during the winter and summer and other practical information can be found from the INTERACT Field Sites or by contacting the INTERACT Transnational Access Coordinator Hannele Savela or relevant station managers.

Short name Station Country SM Contact TA/RA contact RA TA VA
ANS Abisko Scientific Research Station Sweden Magnus Augner Magnus Augner x x x
AKTRU Aktru Research Station Russia Sergey Kirpotin Sergey Astakhov Olga Morozova x x
ARCST Arctic Station Greenland Morten Rasch Aart Kroon x x x
WK CEN Whapmagoostui-Kuujuarapik Research Station Canada Christine Barnard x
CHO Chokurdakh Scientific Tundra Station Russia Trofim Maximov Trofim Maximov x
DIR-ITA CNR Arctic Station “Dirigibile Italia” Svalbard, Norway Luigi D'Acqui x x x
CARS-PETUNIA Czech Arctic Station of Josef Svoboda Svalbard, Norway Josef Elster Alex Bernardova Josef Elster Alex Bernardova x x
ECN CAIRNGORM ECN Cairngorms Scotland, United Kingdom Christopher Andrews Christopher Andrews x
ELG Elgeei Scientific Forest Station Russia Trofim Maximov Trofim Maximov x
FINI Faroe Islands Nature Investigation Faroe Islands Lis Mortensen Lis Mortensen x x
FINSE Finse Alpine Research Centre Norway Torbjørn Ergon Torbjørn Ergon x x
GINR Greenland Institute of Natural Resources Greenland Katrine Raundrup Katrine Raundrup x x x
HYYTIALA Hyytiälä Forestry Research Station (SMEAR II) Finland Jaana Bäck Jaana Bäck x x x
KFRS Kainuu Fisheries Research Station Finland Pekka Hyvärinen Pekka Hyvärinen x x x
KAJ Kajbasovo Research Station Russia Sergey Kirpotin Sergey Kirpotin x
KEVO Kevo Subarctic Research Station Finland Otso Suominen Otso Suominen x x x
KHA Khanymey Research Station Russia Sergey Kirpotin Sergey Kirpotin x
KHIBINY Khibiny Educational and Scientific Station Russia Yulia Zaika Yulia Zaika x x
KILPIS Kilpisjärvi Biological Staion Finland Antero Järvinen Antero Järvinen x x
KLUANE Kluane Lake Research Station Canada Michael Moloney Henry Penn Maribeth Murray x
KOLARI Kolari Research Unit Finland Mikko Jokinen Mikko Jokinen x x
MMK-TATRA M&M Klapa Research Station Poland Zofia Rączkowska Staszek Kedzia x x
MFS-NYMTO Mukhrino Field Station Russia Elena D. Lapshina Nina Filippova x x
SVANHOVD NIBIO Svanhovd Research Station Norway Snorre Hagen Snorre Hagen Paul-Erik Aspholm x x x
SVERDRUP Ny-Ålesund Research Station – Sverdrup Svalbard, Norway Christina Pedersen Christina Pedersen x
OULANKA Oulanka Research Station Finland Riku Paavola Riku Paavola x x x
SOD-PALLAS Pallas-Sodankylä Stations Finland Timo Sukuvaara Leena Leppänen x x x
HORNSUND Polish Polar Station Hornsund Svalbard, Norway Wlodzimierz Sielski Wlodzimierz Sielski x
SAM Research Station Samoylov Island Russia Anne Morgenstern Anne Morgenstern Leonid Tsibizov x x
RFS RIF Field Station Iceland Hrönn G. Guðmundsdóttir Jónína Sigríður Þorláksdóttir Hrönn G. Guðmundsdóttir Jónína Sigríður Þorláksdóttir x
SER Sermilik Research Station Greenland Aart Kroon Aart Kroon x
SONNBLICK Sonnblick Observatory Austria Elke Ludewig Elke Ludewig x x
SPA Spasskaya Pad Scientific Forest Station Russia Trofim Maximov Trofim Maximov x
HEF Station Hintereis Austria Rainer Prinz Lindsey Nicholson x
SUDURNES Sudurnes Science and Learning Center Iceland Hanna María Kristjánsdóttir Hanna María Kristjánsdóttir x x
SVARTBERGET Svartberget Research Station Sweden Hjalmar Laudon Hjalmar Laudon Charlotta Erefur x x
TRS Tarfala Research Station Sweden Gunhild Rosqvist Gunhild Rosqvist x x x
TOOLIK Toolik Field Station Alaska, USA Syndonia Bret-Harte Syndonia Bret-Harte Skye Greer x x
NERC AS UK Arctic Research Station Svalbard, Norway Nick Cox Nicola Munro x
VARRIO Värriö Subarctic Research Station Finland Kimmo Neitola Jaana Bäck Jaana Bäck x x
VRS Villum Research Station Greenland Henrik Skov Jørgen Skafte x
WARC Western Arctic Research Centre Canada Joel McAlister Joel McAlister x x
ZAC Zackenberg Research Station Greenland Jørgen Skafte Zackenberg Secretariat x x
EU Logo