The EU ArcticDefinitions of the Arctic vary according to environmental, geographical, political, cultural and scientific perspectives. Some scientists define the Arctic as areas having a high latitude, long winters, short, cool summers,... More Cluster is a network of the Horizon 2020 and a Framework Programme 7 funded Arctic projects. Currently it comprises eight projects:  APPLICATE, ARICE, BLUE-ACTION, EU-PolarNet, ICE-ARC, INTAROS, INTERACT and NUNATARYUK, along with the European Polar Board (EPB) as an affiliated partner. The cluster thus merges a broad spectrum of research and coordination activities – ranging from the most up-to-date findings on permafrostPermafrost is frozen ground that remains at or below zero degrees Celsius (32 degrees Fahrenheit) for two or more years. It forms in regions where the mean annual temperature is... More and sea ice, from enhancing observation to improving predictions, and from networking research stations to coordinating access to icebreakers.

The cluster’s objective is to bring the insights from our various areas of expertise together in order to provide one entry point to EU funded Arctic research. Jointly the EU Arctic Cluster is aiming at providing policy-relevant information and supporting the EU in implementing its integrated policy for the Arctic.

Read more about the members of the EU Arctic Cluster here.

EU Logo