The ArcticDEM team announces a release of new data. This release includes data for the Yukon Territory, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, the Faroe Islands, and northern and western regions of Greenland. Data for other regions in the Arctic will continue to be released on a quarterly basis.

ArcticDEM is a National Geospatial Intelligence Agency (NGA) and National Science Foundation (NSF) public-private initiative to produce a high-resolution, high quality, digital surface model (DSM) of the Arctic using optical stereo imagery, high-performance computing, and open source photogrammetry software. Upon completion, ArcticDEM will encompass all land area north of 60 degrees latitude including all of Greenland, the state of Alaska, and the Kamchatka Peninsula of the Russian Federation.

The ArcticDEM project was created in response to the need for high quality elevation data in remote locations, the availability of technology to process big data, and the need for accurate measurement of topographic change.

Producers of ArcticDEM intend for the final product to be a collection of time-dependent elevation models and the infrastructure to process the flow of imagery from the expanding collection of satellites producing an increasing volume of high-quality data.

For more information about ArcticDEM and to download data, go to:

For questions, contact:
Polar Geospatial Center

EU Logo